All About Us


The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years’ providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The seven areas of learning in the EYFS are: 


  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  2.  Communication and Language. (CL)

  3. Physical development (PD)

  4. Literacy (L)

  5. Mathematics (M)

  6. Understanding the World (UTW)

  7. Expressive Arts and Design  (EAD) 


We use these 7 areas of learning to help us provide a play-based curriculum full of exciting and engaging activities that focus on the children’s interests and allows them to explore and discover at their own pace. Our learning environment, both inside and out, is set up to encourage the children to use their imagination and discover their own learning style. Resources are clearly labelled and easily accessible at all times. 


All our staff have lots of experience in supporting children’s learning and development and use their skills and knowledge of the EYFS to gently encourage the children to take their next steps in learning.


All children within the setting are encouraged to follow their own interests and to make their own choices about their learning, practitioners support this by skilful interactions and being aware of the characteristics of effective learning. 


The characteristics of effective learning are:  

  • Playing and exploring (engagement); 

  • Active learning (motivation) 

  • Creating and thinking critically (thinking).